RSS

A View Over the Picket Fence

21 Nov

You know that dream you’re chasing? Or the one that went away and you’re still thinking about it? Well, for me the 2011 Russian River Valley Picket Fence Pinot Noir was both.

20121121-130601.jpg

Found it once, by accident, at Costco. We could not skip an interesting wine sold at 10-12 bucks. At least we could try something new and not cry for the money, if it was bad. Came home, opened the bottle, sat to have dinner in front of TV and the fist sip of the 2011 Picket Fence Pinot Noir made me stop and reevaluate the moment.

I like earthy Pinots, not too oaky, full of fruits and with a dash of spice. Picket Fence added a velvet finish to all these. Suddenly, I had cherries splashing in my mouth, over the pork chop I was munching, and all went down so smoothly, so perfectly, like the accomplished dream of sitting on your porch, at dusk, looking over the white fence you wished for so long.

And then, we returned to Costco and could not find it again. Nor in other stores we tried to find it. So, I settled on the idea that I lost the perfect Pinot Noir, the one that made me sigh at first sip.

Well, until yesterday, when we went to Bottle Barn and there it was, my porky-Pinot, my mushroomy-lover, my light-until-I-hit-you-with-the-spice Picket Fence.

Bought two. I should have gotten more. Ah, well, I’m not sharing it!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2012 in Shenanigans, Wine info

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “A View Over the Picket Fence

  1. Author Annette J Dunlea Irish Writer

    November 21, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Reblogged this on Annette J Dunlea Irish Author.

     
  2. the drunken cyclist

    November 28, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Wow! Welcome back!

     
    • Wine Cub

      November 28, 2012 at 11:13 am

      Thank you! There had been so many new discoveries later – and so little time to blog.
      By the way – Beaujolais Noveau. Have you tried this year’s releases? I cannot stop drinking… :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

